History of the Prairie View Interscholastic League
Prairie View Interscholastic League Coaches Association
                 "Remembering the Past With Pride"
In the Beginning

In November 1920, as a result of a meeting between members of the Colored Teachers Association and L.W. Rogers, first assistant state
superintendent of education, Division of Negro Schools, the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools (TILCS) is organized as the
governing body for athletic and academic competitions for the state's Black high schools. However, from the beginning, in the Black
community, it was called the "Prairie View Interscholastic League (PVIL) or the "Negro League," because the state track meet was held at
Prairie View each spring and all of the documentation for academic and athletic competitions was housed at the school. The first state track
and field meet was held at Prairie View Normal College in April 1921, however, two years later the TILCS comes under the authority of Prairie
View A&M College, thereby becoming the PVIL. Dr. J.G. Osborne, the Prairie View principal, served as the first league sponsor/director. From
a very small group of 40 schools, the league increased its enrollment to 300 schools by 1927 when W.R. Banks, Prairie View  principal,
became the second league sponsor/director. The guidelines for determining state championships were loosely defined, because there were
no playoffs. This left the door open for more than one state champion to be claimed each year, by different regions of the state, between the
years 1921 through 1939.
The Governing Body

The TILCS/PVIL served as the governing body for interscholastic competition between Black high schools in Texas from 1920 to 1970.
Modeling itself after the UIL, the PVIL offered Black high school students in Texas the opportunity to compete and showcase their talents in
academics and athletics. Academic competitions (in debate, typing, literary, band, music, etc.) were held each spring at Prairie View. The
state basketball tournament was also held each February at Prairie View, followed by the state track meet each April. The New Farmers of
America (NFA), an organization for high school students that were interested in a career in agriculture, also held their state competitions at
Prairie View each year.
District Alignments -- 1940 Class AA

District 1                                                  District 2
Kilgore Dansby                                         Dallas Lincoln
Longview Womack                                    Dallas Booker T. Washington    
Marshall Pemberton                                  Forth Worth Terrell
Paris Gibbons                                           Wichita Falls Washington
Texarkana Dunbar
Tier Emmett Scott

District 3                                                  District 4
Beaumont Charlton-Pollard                       Austin Anderson
Galveston Central                                     Corpus Christi Solomon Coles
Houston Washington                                 San Antoni Wheatley
Houston Wheatley                                     Victoria Gross
Houston Yates                                           Waco Moore
Port Arthur Lincoln

Merger with UIL

The schools in the larger cities played their last football season in the PVIL in 1966. The last basketball, baseball and track seasons for the
larger schools was 1967. The smaller schools continued to play for a state championship in baseball through the spring of 1968. The smaller
schools continued to compete in the state track meet at Prairie View through the spring of 1969 and they also continued to play for a state
championship in football through the fall of 1969. The state basketball tournament continued to be held at Prairie View for the smaller
schools through the spring of 1970. By the fall of 1970, the PVIL had ceased operations. In 2005, the records of the PVIL were included with
UIL records.

Creation of PVILCA

In 1964, the Texas African American Coaches Association (TAACA) was formed with Donald Grace, the former head football coach at Dallas
Madison High School, elected as executive director. In 1980, the group held its first hall of fame and hall of honor banquet, and in 2004
gained nonprofit tax exemption status -- 501(c)(3). In 2005, the organization becomes the PVILCA with former coach Robert Brown assuming
duties as the organization's board chairman.
Organized Structure and Official State Championships

Andrew "Pat" Patterson, a young coach at Houston's Jack Yates High School was the founder of the
organizational plan to Prairie View A&M College Vice-Principal Dr. E.B. Evans. In the spring of 1939,
at a regular meeting of the PVIL, at Prairie View, it was voted to divide the state into districts and
have bi-districts playoffs, semifinals and finals to determine a state championship for the Class AA
colored high schools in 1939 and the ensuing football seasons. However, since the football schdules
for 1939 had already been drawn up, it was voted to inaugurate this plan in the football season of
1940. Fort Worth I.M Terrell High School beat Austin Anderson, 26-0, on December 24, 1940 and
won the first official PVIL state football title. Yates also won the first official PVIL state basketball title
by beating Houston Wheatley, 33-19, on March 2, 1940. Dallas Lincoln won the first official PVIL
state track and field title on April 13, 1940.